Oktoberfest in Kenai and a Special Visit

I finally have some time to sit down and blog!  I don’t know about you, but the summer absolutely flew by so quickly for us!  As always, work is keeping us very busy.  I’m still loving my job at the chamber, however I have to say that often times I feel like an event planner.  Earlier this summer we hosted the largest Fourth of July celebration on the Kenai Peninsula and just a little over a week ago, we had Oktoberfest in Kenai.  

This event was unique from all the others this year…this was the first event in my new job that I’ve had my parents accompany me at.  Mom and Dad drove all the way from Fairbanks to stay with us for the weekend.  It was such a treat to have them attend the event.  And it certainly eased my nerves and made the evening that much more enjoyable!  The whole day before I was running around like a chicken with its head cut off and mom was right by my side reading my supply list at every stop and running errands for me!  It was great!  Thank you Mom!

The event was a great success, complete with German cuisine, a German polka band, auctions, raffles, and of course, LOTS of beer and wine!  It still amazes me how many weeks it takes to prepare for something that lasts just a few hours! 

Dad and Jeremy worked on the new tile flooring in our downstairs bathroom that weekend…the LAST floor to replace in the whole house!  We now have new floors throughout the entire house.  Dad has a creative side to him that some may not recognize, but all you have to do is come look at the three beautiful tile jobs he’s completed in our house!  Thank you so much Dad!!!  We’re moving the washer and dryer back into the bathroom tonight and I’ll send ‘before’ and ‘after’ photos soon. 

love to all!

  1. #1 by Paige on October 31, 2008 - 6:32 pm

    Love all the pics! Looks like it was a blast! Miss all of you!

  2. #2 by melanie on October 16, 2008 - 10:55 am

    So glad you blogged! I love the pics and it looks like everyone had a AWESOME time. Did you get yuor recipe? lol I hope that you and J and L are well! Looking foward to talk ing to you soon!

    Lots of love!

  3. #3 by Marydee on October 16, 2008 - 8:20 am

    Hey Tina!! Sounds like you’re having a GREAT time in your job and doing a good job for Kenai!! What a fun Oktoberfest you must have had with your parents there to join you!! I enjoy your updates.
    xo to all,
    Marydee

  4. #4 by "Aunt" Jill on October 15, 2008 - 4:52 pm

    Hi Tina, what a great party! I remember going to Octoberfest in 1984 with your parents in Munich. The three of you were such good tour guides! It looks like your Octoberfest was just as fun. Glad to hear you are all doing well. Take care, Tina! Love to all, “Aunt” Jill

Leave a comment