Almost Homemade Falafels

Have you ever enjoyed something from a restaurant and thought to yourself, “hmmm, I bet this would be easy to make at home”?  Well, last summer I experienced my first falafel and enjoyed it so much I decided I was going to try and make my own.  A visit to Costco where I found a package of precooked falafel balls sealed the deal.  I was on a mission to figure out how to make the best falafel in MY kitchen.

The first attempt, I have to admit, wasn’t one worth sharing.  The pre-made falafel balls I purchased are pretty bland without a little ‘dressing up’ and I didn’t get it right the first try.  So my second try was just a couple nights ago and it’s definitely worth sharing.  It was DELICIOUS!

First of all, if you can’t buy falafels in your local grocery stores, they are fairly easy to make from scratch (and probably taste better too).  Second of all, one of the condiments I used were a family recipe of horseradish dill pickles.  The recipe for the pickles requires you let your pickles marinade for up to a week before eating.  If you’d like the recipe for these, send me an email and I’ll help you out.  Otherwise, stick to regular dill pickles and maybe add just a dash of horseradish to the yogurt dip (described below).

Ingredients:

olive oil

pita bread

seasoned salt (I use the McCormick brand)

1/2 medium white onion chopped

lettuce (I used Romaine)

spinach

dill pickles

1 cup greek yogurt (plain)

1/2 cup cilantro

3 cloves garlic

cumin

 

1.  Put a tablespoon of olive oil in a large skillet and cook the falafel balls on med/high heat.  If you buy the pre-made package they are pre-cooked and just need to be warmed.

2.  While you’re cooking the falafel balls, chop your lettuce and onion and set aside.  Wash your spinach and set aside.  Slice or chop your pickles and set aside.  Remove balls from heat when thoroughly cooked/warm.

3.  Make your yogurt dressing:  chop your cilantro and mince your garlic.  Mix with about a cup of yogurt, add a pinch of cumin and stir well.

4. Prepare your pita bread: Heat skillet on med/high heat with about a tablespoon of olive oil.  When the pan is hot place a single pita bread in the pan for about 15-20 seconds.  Flip it over and sprinkle the cooked side with seasoned salt.  Wait another 15-20 seconds and remove from pan.  Continue until all your pita wraps are cooked.

5.  Now you’re ready to dress up your falafel.  Take a pita wrap and lay on your plate.  I added lettuce, spinach, onion and pickles on the bottom and then put 4 falafel balls on top of that with the dressing on top.  YUM!  Here’s what mine looked like…

And before I could sit down to enjoy mine, Kelly decided to climb up in my chair and enjoy a little bite herself 😉

 

 

,

  1. #1 by carol on April 15, 2011 - 12:01 am

    I have a really great falafel mix in a box. I get it at the Walmart in Pinetop, AZ. I will have to send you a box to try, just add water and, I swear, they are ALMOST as great as the fresh ones sold in Fairbanks, AK.

Leave a Reply

