Welcoming Home Kelly Nicole Baldridge

As you know by now, Kelly Nicole was born July 27th at 5:40p.m.  She weighed 8lbs and 5.9oz and was 20.5 inches long.  She’s absolutely perfect 🙂  She definitely looks a lot of her daddy with his big blue eyes and possibly more me in her mouth.  Her looks change every day so we’ll see.  She has a FULL head of hair and exceptionally long fingers and toes.  You know the old wives tale that the more heartburn you have during pregnancy the more hair your baby will have?  I’m hear to tell you it is absolutely true!  I had the WORST heartburn and it literally turned off after she was born.  I think the hair justifies it all. 

My labor and delivery was pretty good.  I checked in Sunday evening, July 26, and they inserted cervidel right away and told me to get some rest; they’d be back in the morning to check me.  Well, the midwife came in at 7:30a.m., flicked the lights on and I was 3 centimeters dialated!  She broke my water right there and said, “this should get things moving.”  And boy did it ever!  I was 6 centimeters by noon I think and all I remember was for the next three or four times she checked me I kept hearing, “You’re still only 6 cm!”  UGH!  That was the toughest part.  They tried a slow drip of PIT to see if it would help and unfortunately, no progress in 4 hours.  It was about 4:00p.m. and they thought of maybe trying an epidural to see if that would relax the cervix enough to dialate.   So they stopped PIT and pumped some fluids in me, came back in 30 minutes to do the epidural and what do you know!?  I was 9 centimeters!  Cancelled the epidural and I was pushing minutes later.  I was so glad to not have had the epidural and SO RELIEVED when it was all over and she was in my arms.  What an amazing experience!  Makes me get choked up just writing this. 

Kelly is one week old today and we’re getting ready to head in to town for her first check up.  It’s the first time I’ve been into town since I was pregnant and the first time I have driven my car with her in the seat behind me.  There are firsts happening everyday here at the Baldridge residence and what a joy it has been.  We’re so thankful for our friends and family that have come to visit and help us out through this transition in our lives.  Here are some photos from Kelly’s first week in our world:

  1. #1 by Paige on August 7, 2009 - 12:38 pm

    Oh my gosh…she is precious!!! We are so happy for all of you! Enjoy EVERY minute because time flies by so fast! We just sold all of Abby’s baby furniture because now she is in a big girl bed. I can’t believe that she is not in a crib anymore! 😦 Makes me sad, but she loves being a “big girl” like her sister! Miss all of you! Love, Paige

Leave a Reply

