Fourth of July in Kenai

I hope you all had a festive Fourth of July last weekend!  It was a busy day in Kenai with our parade, stage entertainment, vendor booths, and an iron pour (see photos below).  Luckily I had so many volunteers helping out this year, I actually had a few minutes to enjoy the parade and get something to eat at the park strip. 

We started setting up on Friday and I was becoming a bigger hazard as the day went on.  I hope after the baby is born, I gain some of my BRAIN back!  Friday while I was setting up a tent for Saturday’s events, I laid my blackberry cell on the hood of my car.  Well, when I drove off I completely forgot about it.  I never saw my phone fly off the hood of my car…right in front of my face…but I realized where I left it and where it was no longer, about a mile down the road.  I circled around and looked all over for it before I found it laying in the middle of the highway completly crushed!  UGH!  The day before a huge event that I’m reponsible for and I have NO PHONE!?  So, I had to go straight to the phone company and get a phone.  What an expensive mistake!

But it didn’t stop there…I returned to the office Friday evening around 7p.m. and was formatting some data for the parade emcee the next morning when I copied a column and pasted it OVER TOP OF data not realizing it.  Then, like an idiot, I hit the “SAVE” button!  It just so happens that I pasted over about 2 hours of data entry!  The only reason I know this is because that’s how long it took me to retype it all Saturday morning. 

To my surprise, everything ran very smooth on Saturday!  We had sunny, 75 degree weather all weekend and lots of people came out for the festivities this year! 

A local golf course loaned me a golf cart to get around for the day…I felt a little goofy, but it was a blessing!  If you look closely at the areal shots below you can see me in my golf cart.  I think Jeremy appreciated the ride as well 🙂

Well, now that this event is over I can focus on wrapping up work and prepare to be out for a while!  I hope you all had a great weekend!  xoxo

4th Parade 087

  1. #1 by Paige on July 11, 2009 - 6:21 am

    Don’t worry about the brain thing…it’s gone forever once you have kids!!!! 🙂 I love the pregnancy pics!! You are absolutely BEAUTIFUL!!! We are so excited for you guys and can’t wait for the new one to arrive! Love and miss you! Paige

Leave a Reply

