Orphaned

I know you are probably sick of my redundant photos of moose and Lilly, but I just have to share this with you. 

Yesterday, Lilly began barking at something outside and we looked out and saw a baby moose!  We thought “Uh Oh, the mama must be close by!”  So jeremy cautiously ran out to get Lilly before she got too close.  We got her inside and then realized there was no sign of mama or ANY other moose in the area.  We walked over to the neighboring empty lot where this calf was hanging out and it was all alone.  We went back inside and kept watching for the mama.  Next thing we know, the calf is coming into our yard.  I was out on the deck with my camera, sitting quietly.  It was crying and confused, obviously lost.  So sad.  At one point it was heading right towards me.  It probably came within 10 feet of me and was just staring at me.  I wanted to help it so bad, but their best chance for survival is to steer clear and let it find its mom on its own.  He or she eventually stumbled off the edge of the bluff and continued down the bluff towards the forest at the end of our road.  It was so cute and we just felt so helpless.  Hopefully it’s old enough to eat grass and can survive without its mommy’s milk? 

Lilly has discovered she has quite the lil’ hops going on.  Last summer we built a 4 foot fence between our yard and the neighbors yard.  Lilly can clear the fence with out even touching it and lately she refrains at no cost!  If she wants to go play with Kona, the neighbor dog, she just hops over to play and comes back when she’s tired.  The first time I saw her do it I got onto her about it and the neighbor said, “Just leave her be, she can come play any time she wants to.”  She LOVES Lilly and spoils her to death…more than I do!!! 

I also included a couple of photos of our fresh stained house.  We still have to do the window frames and the new boards we replaced, but overall it looks so much better! 

  1. #1 by Paige on July 12, 2008 - 7:49 pm

    Tina~Love all the pics! I think it is so funny about Lilly jumping over the fence to see her friend! The house is looking great! We miss you!!! Paige

  2. #2 by Marydee on June 23, 2008 - 2:59 pm

    You’re capturing some incredible shots, Tina!! I sure hope the little guy found it’s mom. :o( Now Tina, are you sure Lilly is a dog???…or is she a bird?!! :o) You’re lucky you are on really good terms with your neighbor…just think what would happen if you weren’t and Lilly just “landed” in their back yard!!! Too funny! Your house looks GREAT!!!
    XO to all!

  3. #3 by mom on June 23, 2008 - 12:21 pm

    wow!!! Poor baby!!!!

  4. #4 by Paige on June 23, 2008 - 6:40 am

    Oh that pic of Lily is hilarious…I can’t believe how high she can jump! Too funny…
    I’m sad to hear you won’t be coming this way, but I completely understand with prices of flying these days…
    Talk to you soon, Paige

Leave a Reply

