First Week on the Job

After accepting the Director position with the Kenai Chamber of Commerce, it began to set in how exciting and at the same time how nerve-racking this opportunity is.  I’m excited about working with our 375 members and community leaders on a professional level, and on the other hand it’s a little nerve-racking to know that I’m the face of the Chamber and all eyes are on me. 

This week was very fun and stressful all at the same time.  First things first; organize, organize, organize.  No documents or records are in one spot and I’m lucky if they exist.  It’s okay, just a little scary starting fresh with nothing in hand 😉  Then, Wednesday was my first weekly luncheon as the Director and it was followed by two radio interviews.  Completely unexpected and so that was a little scary too.  On the other hand, I have had so many warm welcomes from the community, including the Mayor.  On Tuesday, a couple elderly men came into the office and began measuring the windows.  I later introduced myself and they are retired Unocal employees that offer volunteer services to the Chamber year-round.  They were measuring our windows for some nice window fixtures, courtesy of the Mayor.  If I could say one thing about this community that truly makes it worth living here, it’s the people that consistently provide out of the kindness of their hearts. 

Furthermore, it was a great week and I look forward to many more.

  1. #1 by Crissy on November 13, 2007 - 5:41 pm

    Sounds like you are off to a running start. You will be fabulous!

  2. #2 by Traci Foster on November 7, 2007 - 10:38 am

    Hey, tin! Congratulations!! Sorry you haven’t heard from me in a while, each day is just one thing to the next with no breaks!! I’ve had to work the past two weekends as well. Extra money, I guess 🙂 I’m happy for you, this seems like your niche! FYI: dad, Ryan, and I were just talking about my coffee shop; I guess it’s getting built this winter to hopefully be open Fall 2008!! Still working out the details….Talk to you soon! I Love You!!

  3. #3 by Crystal on November 6, 2007 - 10:08 pm

    Hi! This is ironic…I did a search for marketing in the area on myspace (I live in Palmer, AK) just to see what came up…you did…then I checked out your webpage.

    I just accepted the Executive Director position at the Palmer Chamber of Commerce the end of last month…and I’ll be 26 this month! (haha)

    Very interested in networking with you, considering our similar positions.

    http://www.myspace/cimalima

  4. #4 by mom on November 5, 2007 - 7:11 pm

    Hey! One down and many more to come!!! No Lilly stories or pictures from last week? You must have been busy!!!!!!

  5. #5 by Marydee on November 5, 2007 - 6:26 am

    Congratulations on your new position with the Chamber, Tina! How exciting!! I’m sure they already realize they’re lucky to have you. Have fun and make an impact! :o)
    Marydee

Leave a Reply

