Spinning for Life

{It’s 9:00 a.m. on a Monday.  It’s just me and the road ahead.  As I pick up speed I can hear the wind whistling in my ears (it feels a little brisk this time of year) and sound of rubber on the pavement.  The fresh air is refreshing at this time in the morning.  Ahead there’s a hill.  I shift to a lower gear and push forward.  I shift my body weight from side to side and I focus on my breathing.  I pace myself to the beat of the music from my IPOD.  I think, “Almost there, almost there, almost there”….okay, I made it to the top.  I shift to a higher gear, pick up speed… and the best part is, it’s just me and the road ahead.} 

I recently started attending a spinning class at a local gym and have become addicted!  What is spinning you ask?  It’s an indoor cycling class.  If you’ve ever attending one of those free classes at your gym and felt like all eyes are on you if you can’t keep up, this is a great option for you.  The above thought is just one example of how the instructors install motivation for you in class.  They take you ‘outdoors’ and provide real cycling obstacles and triumphs.  It really does make a difference when you put yourself there instead of in an enclosed room at the gym.  😉

Spinning classes are wonderful for all shapes and sizes!  You will sweat like crazy and walk away feeling like you accomplished a great workout.  I’ve been attending every other day for almost three weeks now and I can already see improvements in my endurance.  When I started the class I had to back off a few ‘hill climbs’ in order to finish the class.  And now I can almost complete the class with no more breaks than everyone else.  If you need to back off a little and give yourself a breather, you can do so by simple switching to a lower gear on your bike and no one will no the difference.  The class allows you to work at your own pace while also offering challenging obstacles to great music!

They say that the average person burns about 500 calories in a 40 minute spinning class.  It’s a great workout and it’s so much fun!  I would recommend it to anyone that is considering attending the free classes at your local gym.  If your gym offers a spinning or cycling class and you want a great workout, go for it!  

  1. #1 by Traci Foster on October 13, 2007 - 12:48 am

    Hey! I used to do this with Chipper’s sister, who now lives in New Mexico. We would go to the gym out on Eielson…her husband’s airforce. I LOVED it! The best part is you feel like you’re getting a really hard workout in, in only a short amount of time! Definitely a plus in this century!!

  2. #2 by Paige on October 9, 2007 - 9:21 pm

    Hello!! Ok…this is so cool!!! I’ve heard about these blogs, but never actually seen one. What a great way to keep up with everyone!! I miss all of you terribly…hope to see you soon! Oh, and guess where I am going tomorrow for my first time…a spin class…I told Matt he is watching the girls and I’m going to try this thing out!

  3. #3 by mom on October 8, 2007 - 6:13 pm

    Hi! Just thought I’d let you know I’m reading your site!!! You make me want to go find a spinning class!!!!

Leave a Reply

